ADVERTISEMENT

Biden's Easter Message....

You might be right about legal purposes, but laws don't serve to reflect scientific reality, they provide a (certainly flawed, and thus changeable) set of rules and guidelines for a functioning society. As for medical purposes -- and while I'm no expert -- aside from issues regarding trans folk specifically, I'd think one's gender is typically of no concern, only one's sex.

You may think it's only liberals, but sex and gender are also not considered to be the same thing in these places:
But yes, I suppose if all the scientific organizations and dictionaries are exclusively made up of liberals, then you are correct.

Also, why get bent out of shape about pronouns? We've used they/them as singular forever when referring to someone of unknown gender (if only recently accepted in formal writing), and new words get invented all the time. It's like saying "there's no such thing as 'rizz,' it's 'charisma' no matter how much anyone wants to say differently."
You're missing the point:
Which is, a man cannot become a woman. Period. They can act, feel and believe they're a woman, but society has no obligation to indulge them in this delusion.

As for pronouns, until a few years ago, I never, in all my years, ever heard of a singular person referred to a "they/them".
And again, for a singular person to want others to refer to them as "they/them" is simply grammatically incorrect.
You're probably too young to remember the SNL skit about Pat?

You're missing the point:
Which is, a man cannot become a woman. Period. They can act, feel and believe they're a woman, but society has no obligation to indulge them in this delusion.
I understand your point, I simply disagree, as do the scientific and medical communities. One's gender is independent of their sex, and, subject the limitations of medical technology (can't change chromosomes, for instance), one can also change their sex to match their gender identity, if they so choose.