ADVERTISEMENT

(OT) Ashamed of DePauw

Apr 12, 2012
St. Louis
www.actionflow.net
Way off topic. The only tie-in is the state of Indiana and the fact that I formerly had DePauw for my avatar. I graduated from DePauw, but my dad and brother went to Purdue. So, Purdue has always been my Division I school.

I just removed my DePauw icon for my avatar.

I don't know how many of you heard about the antics at DePauw the past year, but it's become a haven of administrators chasing their own tail of political correctness. I believe current administration is doing serious damage to the students there. Here's the message the current administration is effectively sending:

If your feelings get hurt, the proper response is to violently tear down those that hurt your feelings, and then try to stifle conversation, legislate laws and change the world so that your feelings never get hurt again.

A terrible message to convey.

Way off topic. The only tie-in is the state of Indiana and the fact that I formerly had DePauw for my avatar. I graduated from DePauw, but my dad and brother went to Purdue. So, Purdue has always been my Division I school.

I don't know how many of you heard about the antics at DePauw the past year, but it's become a haven of administrators chasing their own tail of political correctness. I believe current administration is doing serious damage to the students there. Here's the message the current administration is effectively sending:

If your feelings get hurt, the proper response is to violently tear down those that hurt your feelings, and then try to stifle conversation, legislate laws and change the world so that your feelings never get hurt again.

That, unfortunately, is the new norm for colleges and universities. This isn't the forum for politics, but.....