ADVERTISEMENT

DH Contract Extension?

FirstDownB

All-American
Oct 12, 2015
Allow me to toss some more fuel on the fire.. I realize this will sound ridiculous to many, but if DH is not fired by the end of the year, I believe the next best option may be to extend his contract another 1-2 years. Now, hear me out, as there are plenty of qualifiers to this...

It is rare now days to see a coach enter into his last couple years of a contract. The primary reason being recruiting. It is a competitive disadvantage to not be able to tell recruits you will be there all four years and have the contract to back it up. Lord knows Purdue has enough recruiting disadvantages already due to the staff and the state of the program.

Now, the next important point I am less clear about as I am not a contracts expert. However, the reality is DH does not have any bargaining power right now whatsoever. So, if ever there was a chance to extend a contract on the cheap, defer salary in exchange for additional years, incentivize salary, etc., this is it. Again, this is all assuming you don't fire the guy, which I believe should be option #1. If you work it right, get some smart contract lawyers involved, you should be able to restructure the contract for additional years while only being on the hook for comparable total guaranteed money.

Removing the lame duck label, along with the new practice facility project might just be enough to land a decent offensive coordinator this off season. And it might be enough to pull in a "next-to-last" Big Ten recruiting class instead of a dead last class littered with second rate JuCos. Is that enough to compete? Who knows. But at a minimum it is more for the next coach to work with if you end up firing DH after all.