ADVERTISEMENT

VA Scandal + Solution

db

All-American
Gold Member
May 29, 2001
Just amazing and sickening to read what went on in Phoenix. Hope the leaders there pay the appropriate price.

I have little knowledge of how widespread the problems were in the VA system or for how long. I've read the accusations that this political party or that paid too little attention or cut their funding. Not interested in that pissing contest.

What struck me was a comment in one of the threads that said "why not just abolish the VA and give the veterans free health care?"

Well, why not? Obamacare is a mechanism through which a lot of people get healthcare capped at 9.5% of income, plus their deductibles. How hard would it be for the government to pick up the 9.5% and the deductibles, for veterans?

In so doing we would eliminate one large and apparently very inefficient government bureaucracy. I expect money would be saved overall. It's a win-win.

Anyone disagree with doing away with the VA?

So you are saying that government run healthcare is a failure and private business could do it better?

Just amazing.....that you can't make the connection between a bureaucracy run by the federal government and the terrible results it produces. And you want the federal government, via Obamacare, to still be involved? Ugh.

Step 1: Eliminate Obamacare

Step 2: Fair Tax (the elimination of income taxation)

Step 3: Vouchers.

Put the money in the hands of the veterans. Let them shop around. Whatever they don't spend they can keep (tax free since there's no income tax).

Its that simple. The free market is the best system around for delivering customer service. Not Obamacare.

Man you are truly Pavlovian. You see the word Obamacare and you have to rant about unrelated stuff.

First: Would you abolish the VA, or not? I thought it was a good suggestion. What do you think?