ADVERTISEMENT

Dominance

We're living through probably the best period of time ever for Purdue basketball, which is pretty incredible when you think about the overall league dominance Purdue has enjoyed since the conference was ever formed.
I could not agree more. Us older guys loved Keady’s teams and Rick Mounts’ teams, but CMP has exceeded those eras, imho. I cannot wait to see what he has in store for us for the 24-25 crew.

I could not agree more. Us older guys loved Keady’s teams and Rick Mounts’ teams, but CMP has exceeded those eras, imho. I cannot wait to see what he has in store for us for the 24-25 crew.

Ditto. My earliest memories of Purdue were watching Rick Mount and Mike Phipps. This is going to be even better.

Unfortunately football was at that position in the days of Mike Phipps, but a change of head coaches killed things.

It’s pretty wild. I was a student when Big Dog played. I was fortunate to witness one of the most dominant players to ever play the game every single home game he played.

Then the baby boilers showed up and flipped the league on its head again.

But these last 5+ years have been a sustained level of excellence that I didn’t really think was possible in this day and age. The final four spotlights things of course but minus the 2019/2020 year that was cut short by Covid anyway, the run this program has been on has been really incredible.

IMO: Painter has done 2 things very well:

1. He's done a great job of recruiting guys who will make Purdue better. Gene did, too, but Painter's raised the level of athletism. Something really changed in his approach after the debacles of 2013 and 2014--and it's absolutely been for the better.