ADVERTISEMENT

Fans

Sep 2, 2001
I was a freshman at Purdue on Aug. 1967 and graduated in Jan. 1972. I have been watching Purdue football since I was about 12 years old. Jack Mollenkoff (sp?) was the coach and he did a great job winning at Purdue. Since then, I watched a parade of coaches (Agase, Burnett, Young, Coletto, etc.) try their best, but some of them could not win-some did win. I think Purdue could have not got a better football coach than Brohm. We have to be patient, give him and his coaches time. The OL coach may not be the best or the players are not understanding what to do. Hazel was a nice man and did his best. Under Hazel, I think Purdue football was probably the worse team in the USA during those 4 years. No one can turn that kind of program around in 3 yrs.

Having graduated in 1966 and visiting Purdue for games previously to that from 1959 on when my older brother and sister attended, I am also a Purdue fan who loved the Mollenkopf years and Purdue's success. Being out of the country for 23 years I guess I luckily missed a lot of Purdue bad football, but am presently thrilled with Brohm as coach. He's had a lot more to do than just field a winning team, like immediately returning fans to the stands and providing an interesting watchable product while increasing Purdue fan support, interest and contributions. This was not necessarily entirely compatible with fielding a winning team this year especially with injuries, but I believe this to be a minor aberration in the overall continuous improvement of the team toward where we can compete for meaningful titles and bowl games. I am thankful for Brohm and the hope that he has given for Purdue football and making me once again an avid fan.